Fourth of July is a day filled with fireworks, drinks, and gluten-y food. As a gluten free-er, navigating a party is frustrating enough, but 4th of July adds an extra level of stress with all the beer and hot dogs. Here are some information to support you on this festive day without getting gluten-ed.
Make sure to avoid beer and hotdog buns, obviously. However, the not so obvious things to avoid for gluten are the hot dogs, even without buns, and the condiments. You would be surprised at the number of the brands that are not gluten free, however there are a lot of brands that are. See below for a list of gluten free hot dogs, ketchups, mustards, and mayonnaise.
Gluten Free Hot Dogs
Applegate Farms - gluten free and produced in a facility without gluten
Bar-S - gluten free, but produced in the same facility as their corn dogs
Boar's Head - gluten free
Dietz & Watson - certified gluten free by Celiac Sprue Association (avoid the scrapple and bockwurst)
Hebrew National - gluten free
Kunzler - gluten free and made in a separate gluten free room
Nathan's Famous - gluten-free less than 20 parts per million (20 ppm), and made in a gluten free facility
Organic Prairie - gluten free
Oscar Mayer - gluten free, but check food label for gluten containing ingredients
Sabrett - certified gluten free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization
Wellshire Farms - certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization
*If looking for hidden sources of gluten, check for these words on the food label: dextrose, maltodexterin, modified food starch, and modified starch.
Gluten Free Condiments
Best Food/Hellman's Mayonnaise - Mayonnaise, Light Mayonnaise, Low-Fat Mayonnaise Dressing, Limited Edition Southwestern Ranch Reduced Fat Mayonnaise and Tartar Sauce are marked gluten-free
Duke's Mayonnaise - gluten free, distilled vinegar derived from corn
Heinz Mayonnaise - Mayonnaise, Light Mayonnaise, Deli Mayonnaise-Moroccan, Deli Mayonnaise-Caramelized Onion, Deli Mayonnaise-Roast Garlic, and Deli Mayonnaise-Sun-Dried Tomato contain no gluten ingredients
Vegenaise - gluten free and vegan
Follow my latest adventures on Instagram @travelfarglutenfree